ninjakmfk.blogg.se

Greatest tank battles of world war 2
Greatest tank battles of world war 2








A Soviet round had struck me in the shoulder, shattering the bone and leaving me gasping for air.Īt the battle’s conclusion, Germany’s inspector-general of armored troops, the wily Heinz Guderian, deemed that Germany had “suffered a decisive defeat”-certainly not the outcome Hitler had in mind when he said that Operation Citadel, as the Germans called the offensive, would be “of decisive importance.” In that same instant I was knocked off my feet as though hit by a heavyweight boxer. The butt kicked and a round was sent hurtling toward a faceless Soviet soldier. I instinctively yelled a warning, dropped to one knee and squeezed the trigger of my rifle. I twisted to see a camouflaged cover being thrown off a trench. He whimpered as I moved toward him, but was silent by the time that I was at his side.

greatest tank battles of world war 2

I expected to be cut down any moment or blown to smithereens by the shells that slammed about….I heard my old friend Ernst panting seconds before his right arm was torn from his body by an explosion that flung his rifle at my feet. Ivan bullets zipped around us I could hear them flying past my ears. The 20-year-old lieutenant struggled toward his platoon’s objective on the morning of July 5, 1943, against a weight of fire he had never before experienced.

greatest tank battles of world war 2

German infantryman Raimund Rüffer would never forget the first day of Hitler’s offensive toward the Russian city of Kursk.










Greatest tank battles of world war 2